Where They're Going: Minnesota's HS Class of '23 -- May 23

May 23, 2023 | 8 min.
By Michael R Fermoyle

Signings/Commitments with DI, DII, DIII schools and community colleges by Minnesota's Class of 2023 (also includes players with Minnesota ties).


Name                              High School                             College/University

Josh Esterley                 Chaska                                           St. Thomas      

Blake Forrest                Maple Grove                                 Gustavus Adolphus

Trent Hanson                  Byron                                        Iowa Central Community College

Kagan Kollar                Maple Grove                                     North Dakota

Joe Kortan                     Moorhead                                         North Dakota

Luke Maas                  Watertown-Mayer                                Winona State

Dawson Melbo                Anoka                                      University of Mary (Bismarck, N.D.)

Karson Patten                 Cloquet                                          Minnesota State-Mankato  

Nate Peyerl               West Fargo Sheyenne                             North Dakota

Joe Rohlwing                Eastview                                          University of South Dakota

Zach Rouleau               Farmington                                            St. Thomas

Cullen Ryan                  Lakeville South                                      Bemidji State

Jack Schrader               Maple Grove                                        Minnesota State-Mankato   

Logan Schons               Detroit Lakes                                        Jamestown University

Kyler Schwamb              Farmington                                             Minnesota

Drew Teeter                   Albert Lea                                     Des Moines Area Community College            

Max Wilson                      Roseau                                               North Dakota State

Joseph Wisocki                Willmar                                               Kansas Weslyan

Cole Witherow                 Woodbury                                          University of South Dakota

Maximilian Wolf               Hopkins                                              Regis University (Denver, Colo.)


Rose Baynes                  Eden Prairie                                              Indiana

Emma Berge                    Lake City                                           Minnesota State-Mankato

Brooke Bothwell              Edina                                                 Monmouth University

Hannah Boraas               Alexandria                                             Montana State  

Sophie Brantner             Fargo Oak Grove                                   Bethel University

Kate Burke                          Edina                                                    Arizona

Morgan Eckman                 Jordan                                            Northwestern-St. Paul

Kelsi Mauzy                   Lakeville South                                           Furman     

Maren Masters                Shakopee                                             Gustavus Adolphus

Avery O'Donnell               Elk River                                                South Dakota

Izzy Olson                         Brainerd                                              U.S. Naval Academy                

Grace Petzold                Providence Academy                           St. Catherine University 

Nicole Reineke                    Chaska                                                 St. Thomas

Abbie Ritzer                      New Richmond                                        South Dakota 

Olivia Salonek                     Roseville                                                    Iowa

Rhianna Stutz                       Prescott                                       Kutztown University (Pennsylvania)

Kathryn VanArragon              Blaine                                                   St. Thomas

Victoria Woytassek               Jordan                                             Minnesota State-Mankato

Class of '24


Jake Birdwell                    Spring Lake Park                                           Illinois

Andrew Ramos                   Totino Grace                                             Oklahoma


Reese McCauley                  Simley                                                     Minnesota  

Michael R Fermoyle

Mike Fermoyle’s amateur golf career features state titles in five different decades, beginning with the State Public Links (1969), three State Amateurs (1970, 1973 and 1980), and four State Four-Ball championships (1972, 1985, 1993 and 2001). Fermoyle was medalist at the Pine to Palm in 1971, won the Resorters in 1972, made the cut at the State Amateur 18 consecutive years (1969 to 1986), the last being 2000, and amassed 13 top-ten finishes. Fermoyle also made it to the semi-final matches at the MGA’s annual match play championship, the Players’, in 1982 and 1987.

Fermoyle enjoyed a career as a sportswriter at the St. Paul Pioneer Press Dispatch before retiring in 2006. Two years later he began a second career covering the golf beat exclusively for the MGA and its website, mngolf.org, where he ranks individual prep golfers and teams, provides coverage on local amateur and professional tournaments and keeps tabs on how Minnesotans are faring on the various professional tours.

Contact Us

Contact Us

6550 York Avenue South, Suite 411 • Edina, MN 55435 • (952) 927-4643 • (800) 642-4405 • Fax: (952) 927-9642
© 2024 Minnesota Golf Association. All Rights Reserved