Larson Named MGA Evans Scholar of the Year

October 25, 2022 | 1 min.
By Jack Mendesh

The MGA Fritz Corrigan Evans Scholar of the Year award is bestowed annually to the Evans Scholar from the University of Minnesota Evans Scholars Chapter House for outstanding achievement in academics, leadership and community service. 

Josie Larson, 21, of Little Canada, is a senior at the University of Minnesota majoring in mathematics, with a minor in statistics. She carried a perfect 4.0 GPA for five of the past six semesters. Larson caddied at Midland Hills Country Club in Roseville before establishing an outstanding record of leadership within the Evans Scholars program. She has participated in annual blood drives, volunteered at Feed My Starving Children and mentored fellow scholars in mathematics and statistics. In 2022, Larson was elected president of the Minnesota Evans Scholars Chapter, and this past summer, completed a 10-week internship with the Travelers Insurance Company in St. Paul. She plans a career in actuarial science following graduation next spring.

The Chick Evans Scholarship program is a four-year college scholarship for deserving caddies, sponsored by the Western Golf Association in association with the MGA. There are currently 1,070 Evans Scholars attending 21 universities around the country.

In 1996, the MGA renamed the Evans Scholar of the Year award in honor of Fritz Corrigan, a long-time supporter of the Evans Scholarship program who helped establish the Evans Scholars Chapter House at the University of Minnesota.

Jack Mendesh

Jack Mendesh is the MGA’s caddie development and communications manager. He grew up caddying and playing golf in the Twin Cities and likes to give back to the game that has afforded so many enriching experiences in his life.

Contact Us

Contact Us

6550 York Avenue South, Suite 411 • Edina, MN 55435 • (952) 927-4643 • (800) 642-4405 • Fax: (952) 927-9642
© 2024 Minnesota Golf Association. All Rights Reserved